# 11 THE COOK

And so, just having blasphemed about waiters, by the irony of fate I am meeting this guy, the cook and falling in love with him.

I meet him on the street – this is usually how I meet people, when I am not in the plane or in the bar. I am walking back home from a small namesday dinner (in my country we celebrate namesdays, it is the tradition I am so happy to get rid off ), which consisted of me, Amanda and one girl, the trainee who is hanging out with Amanda. They gave me a birthday card with a half naked guy joking that it is “your present”.

So I am walking home from the Irish pub, slightly drunk and here is this guy. He is standing on the street and he asks me “Excuse me, where is the N. street?”

I straighten my back, like in school and recite him the directions. We cross the street together.

You are not going to invite me to your place? He asks. Just like that.

Why not? I say. Let’s go.

Just like that.

 

About isabelle


Leave a Reply

